Nebraska Auto Liability Law
What mandatory auto insurance laws exist in the state of Nebraska?
- In the state of Nebraska, all motorists must carry minimum liability insurance in order to drive any motor vehicle on its roadways.
- The minimum liability requirements in the state of Nebraska are $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in one accident, $25,000 for property damage in any one accident, and $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured per person in any one accident.
- If you are caught driving without insurance in the state of Nebraska, your license will be immediately suspended.
What is the Minimum Liability Coverage (Bodily Injury amounts per person, per accident, and property damage amounts):
If you buy automobile insurance in the state of Nebraska, your policy must include minimum liability coverage of:
$25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident,
$50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people in one accident,
$25,000 for property damage in any one accident,
and $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured per person in any one accident
What are the Rental Car Insurance Requirements?
In the state of Nebraska, driving without car insurance can result in a suspended license. All motor vehicles, including rental cars, must carry minimum liability insurance. It is important to keep in mind that most Nebraska auto insurance policies include car rentals. Most credit cards cover car rentals as well, so be sure to check your auto insurance policy and/or check with your credit card issuer. If you find that your credit card and/or auto insurance policy do not cover rental cars, you must purchase car rental insurance from the car rental company. It typically costs an extra $7-$14 a day.
What are the rules pertaining to Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage is required in the state of Nebraska in the amount of $25,000/$50,000 uninsured/underinsured per person in any one accident.
What are the rules pertaining to the exclusion from coverage of a driver living in household?
In the state of Nebraska, auto insurance companies can write policies that exclude household members. These exclusions are listed in the exclusions section, which also includes a list of all possible circumstances that would free the insurance company from the responsibility of paying a claim. It is important to examine your auto insurance policy carefully before you sign on the dotted line.
What are the rules regarding whether a driver has prior insurance? That is, how does state law handle it if a driver has no prior insurance or has let their previous insurance lapse?
In the state of Nebraska, if your auto insurance policy lapses or if it is not renewed, the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend the driver’s privileges until proof of insurance is provided.
Is the state a No Fault or Tort state? What does either mean to the policy owner?
The state of Nebraska follows a Tort System. What this means is, if you are involved in an accident, someone must be found to be the cause or fault of the accident. The person deemed at fault is responsible for all damages. Damages are usually handled through the at-fault person’s insurance company. Because Nebraska is a Tort state, most insurance companies recommend that driver’s consider carrying higher coverages than the state minimums.
Insurance Information Institute
Nebraska Department of Insurance